This is quite simply a list of royalties of Europe who were alive at any time between 1860 and 1918. Males and females are listed in separate posts, and the blog begins at the end of the alphabet so that eventually, when it is completed, it will read in alphabetical order. Where there are numerous royalties with the same first name, they are listed chronologically.
Occasional quotations or snippets of information about the royalties are are also included.
Where the Christian name begins with Marie or Maria, the person is often listed under the second part of her name (e.g. Marie Antoinette - had she lived in this period - would be listed under 'A' with 'Marie' written in brackets after Antoinette).
As the information is gathered from numerous sources, there might be irregularity of spelling the name according to the Anglicised, Germanic, French etc. etc. spelling. All the Karls/Carls/Charles for example are listed together.
As this is a work in progress, some of the dates etc. will be filled in later.

As well as the list of names etc. various other lists will be included. Please use the search function to find specific people.

Search This Blog

Saturday, 19 May 2012

Coming Soon....

The Sacrifice is the second novel in the Shattered Crowns trilogy, following the royalties of Europe from 1913 to the Treaty of Versailles. The Sacrifice covers the the period from the outbreak of war to the Russian revolution (1914-1917), during which time the Emperors of Austria, Russia and Germany realise that this is not a war for territory or even honour but is rather a means of destroying their autocracies to replace them with secular ideologies and international economic control. As Kaiser Wilhelm, Tsar Nicholas, Emperor Franz Josef, Archduke (later Emperor) Karl and Queen Marie of Roumania face the horrors of war and suffer for their people, they are also confronted by their own personal and family tragedies.
I did not find this book easy to write because the subject matter is so horrific but I trust I have been able to capture these characters as accurately as possible, and have perhaps dispelled some of the myths surrounding their role in the First World War.
The first book in the trilogy: Shattered Crowns: The Scapegoats is already available on Amazon and in various bookshops

This book will be available next month and, to celebrate its launch, I have now reduced the price of my earliest novels (The Counting House and The Fields Laid Waste) on Kindle to a minimum!

No comments:

Post a Comment